Sunbury's Mark Smith drove to victory in the opening-night 25-lap main event for the 358 sprint cars at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday night. His fourth career 358 sprint win at Selinsgrove was worth $1,500.

It was redemption for Smith, who was leading the 410 sprint opener at Selinsgrove on March 10 when he collided with the lapped car of Michael Ruttkamp.

This time Smith had no such trouble as he dominated the main event.

Josh Beard grabbed the early lead while second place starter Smith battled three-time track champion Pat Cannon for the runner-up spot. Smith secured second from Cannon and then drove by Beard off turn two with four laps completed. He went on to the win unchallenged from there. Cannon got by Beard to finish second. Beard hung on for third ahead of T.J. Stutts and Austin Reed.

Selinsgrove's Dylan Yoder won the 25-lap late model season opener in a three-wide finish between Yoder, eight-time track champion Jeff Rine of Danville, and race-long leader Dave Zona. Yoder got the win by .04 seconds over Zona and Rine. Kenny Trevitz and Jim Yoder rounded out the top five.

Brad Mitch of McClure came out on top of the 15-lap main event for the pro stocks for his second career win. John Fowler Jr. of Montandon drove by Bob Bussey's disabled car on the final lap to win the roadrunner main event.

Selinsgrove Speedway swings back into action on Saturday with its first Mach 1 Chassis 358/360 Challenge Race of the season featuring the 360 sprinters of the Empire Super Sprints (ESS) and the track's regular 358 sprint cars. The feature pays $3,000 to win. Late models, pro stocks and roadrunners are also on the 6 p.m. program. The track will hold an open practice session on Wednesday from 6:30-9 p.m.

At Port Royal Speedway on Saturday night, it was current NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Dave Blaney taking the sprint car feature win on his weekend off from the NASCAR circuit. Blaney, of Cortland, Ohio, grabbed the lead with five laps to go. He earned $3,300 in a car he built himself.

Rick Lafferty, Blane Heimbach, Chad Layton and early race leader Cliff Brian were in the top five. The feature was marred by four red flag periods and lasted for more than one hour.

Hamburg's Scott Haus won his 96th career late model main event over Herndon's Brett Schadel. Haus led all 20 laps. Schadel, who finished five points out of the track championship last year, grabbed second on the final lap.

Fred Rahmer scored the opening-day win for the sprint cars at Williams Grove Speedway. It was Rahmer's first win of the season, his sixth opening day win and his 88th career at the Grove. Rahmer led all 25 laps for the $3,600 win.

At Lincoln Speedway on Saturday night, Brent Marks won $4,000 in the Spring Championship race for the sprint cars. It was his second win of the season.