HARRISBURG - The following votes involving legislators from central and northeastern Pennsylvania took place this past week at the Capitol:

Property tax: House Bill 1189 would give school districts the choice of shifting partially or completely away from relying on property taxes to a mix of an additional earned income tax and a tax on business gross receipts. The House approved the measure 149-46 and sent it to the Senate. A yes vote supported the bill.

Voting yes: Reps. Matt Baker, R-68, Wellsboro; Karen Boback, R-117, Harveys Lake; Rosemary Brown, R-189, Middle Smithfield Twp.; Mike Carroll, D-118, Hughestown; Lynda Schlegel Culver, R-108, Rockefeller Twp.; Frank Farina, D-115, Jessup; Marty Flynn, D-113, Scranton; Kevin Haggerty, D-112, Dunmore; Doyle Heffley, D-122, Lower Towamensing Twp.; Sid Michaels Kavulich, D-114, Taylor; Sandra Major, R-111, Montrose; Gerald Mullery, D-119, Newport Twp.; Phyllis Mundy, D-120, Kingston; Eddie Day Pashinski, D-121, Wilkes-Barre; Mike Peifer, R-139, Honesdale; Tina Pickett, R-110, Towanda; Tarah Toohil, R-116, Butler Twp.

Voting no: Reps. Neal Goodman, D-123, Mahanoy City; Jerry Knowles, R-124, Tamaqua; Mario Scavello, R-176, Mount Pocono, Mike Tobash, R-125, Pottsville

Did not vote: Rep. Kurt Masser, R-107, Ralpho Twp.

Eliminate: Amendment 3448 to House Bill 1189 would increase the state income tax and state sales tax in order to eliminate school property taxes. The House defeated the amendment 138-59. A yes vote supported the amendment.

Voting yes: Reps. Boback, Brown, Flynn, Goodman, Heffley, Knowles, Masser, Mullery, Mundy, Scavello, Tobash, Toohil

Voting no: Reps. Baker, Carroll, Culver, Farina, Haggerty, Kavulich, Major, Pashinski, Peifer, Pickett

Child: Senate Bill 23 would expand the legal definition of a person responsible for a child's welfare as part of package to strengthen child protection laws. The Senate approved the measure 50-0 and sent it to the House. A yes vote supported the bill.

Voting yes: Sens. David Argall, R-29, Tamaqua; Lisa Baker, R-20, Lehman Twp. the sponsor; John Blake, D-22, Archbald; Lisa Boscola, D-18, Bethlehem Twp.; Pat Browne, R-16, Allentown; John Gordner, R-27, Berwick; Gene Yaw, R-23, Williamsport; John Yudichak, D-14, Nanticoke

(Compiled by The Times-Shamrock Harrisburg Bureau)