To the editor: Citizens for a Better Community, a not for profit organization of concerned and dedicated citizens who work to improve the quality of life and pride in our community, thank the following individuals and businesses for making our 2013 fireworks display, curbside collection and car cruise/show a huge success once again:

Glenn A. Knarr and Citizens Fireworks, who donate all local fireworks sales to CBC toward the display.

Brian Knarr, Glenn F. Knarr, Pam Knarr, Lone Wolf, Paul Fuller, Russ Fuller, Michael Fuller, Josh Dorney, Michael Picklo, Joe Weikel, Brian Weikel, Dustin Schlagle and Dan Sessions for volunteering your time for the display setup, launch and tear down.

The News-Item, Fire Art LLC Helker Construction, Vince Guarna, Boy Scouts Troops 250 and 254, Ron and David Miller, Burger King, Kayla Jilinski and the Shamokin Area Junior High Cheerleaders.

Martin's Chicken and Ribs, J&B Audio, Jones Homecenter, Shamrock Mills, Millers Gas and Oil, RC Rhoades Contracting, Lisa Wengrenovich, Shamokin, Coal Township, Ralpho Township and Mount Carmel Township police departments, Shamokin City Council, Coal Township commissioners, Shamokin.

Coal Township, Trevorton, Stonington and Elysburg firefighters and EMS, those who donated their time to stand during the collection, numerous Shamokin and Coal Township businesses for allowing us to place collection cans, car show participants/vendors and most of all you, the residents, family and friends of our community and surrounding communities for your generous donations and support.

Your donations have resulted in a total of $8,735.90 being collected. We are determined to keep this yearly fireworks tradition alive for years to come and each year to become bigger and better.

Next year CBC will be joining Shamokin's 150th Anniversary Committee to conclude a week-long celebration with the annual display at 9:50 Saturday, July 5. Mark your calendars and tell your friends, family and neighbors that Shamokin's fireworks display will be back again next year.


Citizens for a Better Community

Richard Jilinski Sr., president; John Arnold, vice president; Angie Arnold, secretary; Pamala Rhoades, treasurer; and R. Craig Rhoades, Kathleen Shevitski, Bob and Karen Peiffer, Karen Adams, Tony Carnuccio, Peach and Terry Krebs.