The Brush Valley Regional Chamber of Commerce was formed in May 1998 and incorporated on July 16, 1999, by combining the Greater Shamokin Area Chamber of Commerce (incorporated on April 27, 1926) and the Mount Carmel Area Chamber of Commerce.

Our organization is a 501 (c) 6, an association of persons with a common business interest that promotes the common interests and which does not conduct a regular trade or business for profit. The chamber in its form today encompasses Shamokin, Mount Carmel, Coal Township, Elysburg, Kulpmont, Paxinos, Trevorton and all areas between and surrounding.

What's in a name? Our Brush Valley

The chamber name was given by identifying the one thing that touched all of these areas - our water system, located in the beautiful and bountiful Roaring Creek in Brush Valley, which is in between Elysburg (Ralpho Township), Coal Township and Mount Carmel Township, in the Weiser State Forest, Roaring Creek Tract.

Our mission is to strive to help preserve and strengthen the Brush Valley's business environment and quality of life by providing programs and services that promote civic, social, business and economic growth and development. We are a catalyst and advocate for these endeavors while providing positive leadership throughout the region and aggressively promoting its people, thus ensuring the highest quality of life for everyone.

We can help your business succeed

The Brush Valley Regional Chamber of Commerce is a membership-based organizational network of several hundred businesses whose focus is the advancement of the area's business and economic interests.

Stating today, we will publish an article in The News-Item on the first Sunday of each month promoting our members, events and what we can do for your business and the community. To receive more information on how the chamber can help you, visit, call 648-4675, email or visit our facebook page.

(Sandy Winhofer is director of the Brush Valley Regional Chamber of Commerce.)