SHAMOKIN - Four queens will be crowned Sunday for the city's 150th anniversary celebration.

The queens will be crowned at 4:30 p.m. at the Independence Fire Co., Arch and Market streets. All 17 contestants will ride on a float in the July 5 parade.

The contestants are divided among four categories. They raised $6,133 total through bake sales, raffles and other fundraising events to be used for celebration activities.

Contestants are, little queen (ages 3 to 7), Maggie Villari, Kara Smith, Kendra Jones, Brea Whitmer, Emily Goodrich, Katie Cox, Emily Brokenshire, Kelsey Olszewski, Baylee Latshaw and Caylee Latshaw; junior miss (ages 8 to 12), Shannon Jilinski, Nina Wilk and Elyse Whitmer; teen queen (ages 13 to 17), Daizy Barrett and Morgan Schminkey; queen (age 18 and over), Lydia Sandri and Maria Silcox.

The queen contest was organized by Margaret Heim.

Ball planned

The Shamokin 150th Anniversary Committee announced Monday an anniversary ball will be held Thursday, July 3, at the Loyal Order of Moose, Lodge 1149, Rock Street.

The dress is semi-formal. No jeans or shorts allowed.

Tickets can be purchased at the door for $10, which includes a buffet and entertainment by DJ Chad Evans. There will be a cash bar.