SUNBURY - It was a good day for Diane Serafin.

After retiring Friday as a teacher from the Shamokin Area School District after 33 years, she pulled the winning number to break the tie in the Republican nomination for Shamokin Area School Board.

The action puts Serafin, who broke the tie with Matthew Reed Losiewicz, on the Republican ballot in the November election with Edward M. Griffiths, Rosalie Smoogen and Richard A. Kashnoski.

Griffiths, Smoogen, Kashnoski and Losiewicz are also on the Democratic ballot.

There are five candidates for four open positions on the school board.

The tie-breaker process, which was moderated by Alisha Herb, director of the county Bureau of Elections, at the Northumberland County Administration Building, lasted less than five minutes. Each candidate randomly drew one of 16 numbered pills, and the person who drew the higher number won.

Losiewicz pulled the number one and Serafin pulled the number six, and the candidates immediately hugged and wished each other luck.

Later, Serafin said she was proud of Losiewicz, whom she taught when he was in school.

The tie-breaker process also determined that Bernard Novakoski won the Republican nomination for the mayor of Kulpmont over Nicholas Goretski, which means the race is over.

Novakoski also won the Democratic nomination in May.

Novakoski drew the number 10 and county Commissioner Stephen Bridy, who was representing Goretski, drew the number eight.