COAL TOWNSHIP - The Mount Carmel Area School Board welcomed a familiar face back to the president's chair and accepted, with regret, the resignation of the former president, Nicholas Goretski III, who had been a member since 2009.

During the board's reorganization meeting Wednesday night at the Northumberland County Career and Technology Center (NCCTC), Coal Township, board member Donna James, who held the position in 2009, was named president on a 4-3 vote.

James was nominated by Dr. Ray Kraynak while Michael Rovito put Robert Muldowney's name up for nomination.

When the votes were in, it was Dr. Kraynak, Raymond Kraynak, Thomas Ditchey and voting for James, as well as herself, and Charles Mannello, Michael Rovito for Muldowney with the addition of his own vote for himself. Members Michael Brinkash and Nicholas Goretski III were absent.

Muldowney was appointed vice president with a 5-2 vote with himself, James, Raymond Kraynak, Rovito and Mannello in support of his appointment. Thomas Ditchey was the other candidate for the position earning the support of Dr. Kraynak and a vote for himself.

James was also reappointed to the NCCTC Joint Operating Agency board with Rovito, and will serve as the district's representative on the Pennsylvania School Board Association. Mannello was appointed to the Central Susquehanna Intermediate Unit Board.

Goretski's resignation, which took place during an executive session, was accepted on a 6-1 vote with Rovito casting the lone dissenting vote. Mount Carmel Area now has 30 days to fill the board vacancy created by Goretski's resignation. With their next meeting scheduled for Jan. 17, well past the 30-day deadline, a special meeting will be scheduled to make the appointment. Anyone wishing to serve on the school board may send a letter of interest to district superintendent Bernard Stellar.

In other business, the position of Title I Coordinator/Teacher, currently held by Virginia DeFrancesco, was eliminated on a 7-0 vote. DeFrancesco was reclassified as a teacher as a salary to be determined.

Elementary School Principal Susan Nestico was appointed as the district's federal programs coordinator, retroactive to the beginning of the school year, with a stipend of $5,000.

The board also accepted the resignation of cafeteria worker Lori Pyle, effective Nov. 20. She will remain on the district's supportive services substitute list.