COAL TOWNSHIP - Our Lady of Lourdes held its annual awards program honoring senior scholars on May 21st. The following students were award winners:

Valedictorian - William Stewart.

Salutatorian - Nicholas Taylor.

Honor students whose cumulative academic average for four years is 90 percent or higher - Riley Feese, Shawn Khanna, Peyton Klembara, Rachel Schultz, William Stewart and Nicholas Taylor.

National Honor Society, Father Filippelli Chapter - Peyton Klembara, Shawn Khanna, William Stewart, Rachel Schultz and Nicholas Taylor.

French honor society - William Stewart.

French Level 5 pins - Riley Feese, Shawn Khanna and William Stewart.

Spanish honor society - Peyton Klembara, Rachel Schultz and Nicholas Taylor.

Spanish Level 4 pins - Peyton Klembara, Rachel Schultz and Nicholas Taylor.

National School Choral Award - Shawn Khanna.

John Philip Sousa Band Award - Edward Kurtz.

The Bishop's Gold Medal Religion Award (presented annually to the senior attaining the highest accumulative average in religion for four years) - William Stewart.

The following students have earned the highest four-year cumulative averages in the following areas:

Art - Michael Gilger.

English - William Stewart.

French - William Stewart.

Mathematics - William Stewart.

Science - William Stewart.

Social Studies - Nicholas Taylor.

Spanish - Nicholas Taylor.

The awards for highest and second highest average in individual subjects were presented to:

Religion IV - William Stewart, first; Nicholas Taylor, second.

Advanced studio art II - Michael Gilger, first.

Computer applications I - Wyatt Hoffman, first.

Computer applications II - Cody Rothermel, first.

Accounting II - Rachel Schultz, first.

British literature - Nicholas Taylor, first; Rachel Schultz, second.

Spanish IV - Nicholas Taylor, first.

Boys physical education - Michael Gilger, first; Shawn Khanna and Nicholas Taylor, tied for second.

Girls physical education - Rachel Schultz, first; Peyton Klembara, second.

Government/economics - Nicholas Taylor, first; Peyton Klembara, second. World history III - Peyton Klembara, first.

World history II - Daniel Menapace, first.

Psychology - William Bittner, first.

Algebra II - William Bittner, first.

Calculus - William Stewart, first.

Statistics and probability - Rachel Schultz, first.

Trigonometry/analytic geometry - Kelsey Williams, first.

Biology II - Nicholas Taylor, first.

Physics - William Stewart, first.

The following scholarships/awards were awarded:

Our Lady of Lourdes Alumni Association Scholarships - Aaron Greager, Gabriella Long, Daniel Menapace and Angelique Pennypacker.

Our Lady of Lourdes Development Scholarships - Edward Kurtz and Cody Rothermel.

Our Lady of Lourdes Home and School Association Awards - Riley Feese, Wyatt Hoffman, Shawn Khanna and William Stewart.

Edward S. Baker/Anthony E. Konopka Scholarship - Rachel Schultz.

Reverend Charles Persing Foreign Language Award - Peyton Klembara.

Leo A. Mulhall Prize - Peyton Klembara.

News-Item Achiever Scholarship - William Bittner.

Northumberland County Recreation Committee 2014 Scholar Athlete Award - William Stewart and Rachel Schultz.

Memorial Awards were presented as follows:

Anthracite Area Penn State Club's Edward M. Griffiths II, Memorial Scholarship - William Stewart and Alexia Wheary.

Sylvia Cimino, Class of 1951, MCCHS Memorial Award - William Bittner.

Vincent and Elvira DePiante Memorial Scholarships (top six students) - William Stewart, Nicholas Taylor, Rachel Schultz, Peyton Klembara, Shawn Khanna and Riley Feese.

Daniel C. Fabrizio, Class of 1982, Memorial Award - Shawn Khanna.

Henry and Mary Fesniak Memorial Awards - Anthony Catino, William Stewart and Nicholas Taylor.

Nicholas Girolami Memorial Scholarship - Michael Gilger.

Laurie Ann Green Memorial Scholarship - Kelsey Williams.

Marie A. Holland Memorial Scholarship - Angelique Pennypacker.

Jospeh M. Jasicki Memorial Award for chorus - Riley Feese.

Leon F. "Rusty" Kanaskie Scholar Athlete Memorial Award - Rachel Schultz.

F. George Kenney Memorial Award - Angelique Pennypacker.

Knights of Columbus Council 628, John Mehlbaum Memorial Award - Riley Feese.

Helen A. Olsheskie Service Award - Peyton Klembara.

Dolores Oravitz-Kazar Memorial Scholarship - Peyton Klembara.

Knights of Columbus, Stanley Sobotor Memorial Award - Anthony Catino.

Elizabeth R. Wisneski Memorial Scholarship - Wyatt Hoffman.

St. Francis Beneficial Society, Stanley Yodzio Memorial Award - Michael Gilger.

Civic awards were presented as follows:

American Legion Post 73 and American Legion Auxiliary 73, Award - Michael Gilger.

Patriotism Award - William Bittner.

Aqua Pennsylvania Science Achievement Award - Nicholas Taylor.

Catholic Daughters of the Americas, Our Lady of Victory 588 Award - Angelique Pennypacker.

Geisinger Blood Center Scholarships - Nicholas Taylor and Alexia Wheary.

Kulpmont Centennial Scholarship - Angelique Pennypacker.

Kulpmont Lions Ladies Club Award - Angelique Pennypacker.

Kulpmont Sportsman Club Award - Rachel Schultz.

Shamokin Area Lion's Club Award - Daniel Menapace.

Sons of Italy, Stella D'Italia Scholarship - Anthony Catino and Angelique Pennypacker.

Parish Awards

Divine Redeemer Parish Holy Name Society Award - Riley Feese.

Divine Redeemer Parish Council of Catholic Women Award - Riley Feese.

Holy Angels Parish "Light of Christ" Award - Rachel Schultz.

Holy Angels Ladies Guild Award - Alexia Wheary.

Mother Cabrini Parish Award - Michael Gilger.

Mother Cabrini Franciscan Friars Award - Michael Gilger.

Our Lady of Hope Parish Council of Catholic Women Award - Gabriella Long.

Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish Council of Catholic Women Award - Anthony Catino.

Queen of the Most Holy Rosary Parish Award - Shawn Khanna.

Saint Patrick Parish Award - Anthony Catino.

Administration Awards:

Administration Academic Achievement Award, valedictorian - William Stewart; salutatorian - Nicholas Taylor.

Administration Award for character and service - Peyton Klembara.

Principal's Leadership Award - Michael Gilger.

Principal's Outstanding School Spirit Award - Kelsey Williams.

The following senior student ambassadors received certificates - Peyton Klembara, Gabriella Long and Rachel Schultz.

Baccalaureate Mass was held at 7 p.m. May 21. The main celebrant was the Very Rev. Alfred P. Sceski, chaplain at Our Lady of Lourdes; the Rev. Martin J. Kobos, OFM, Conv., pastor of Mother Cabrini Parish, was homilist. Concelebrants were the Rev. Martin Moran, pastor of Divine Redeemer Parish; the Rev. Andrew Stahmer, pastor of Holy Angels Parish; the Rev. Adam Ziolkowski, parochial vicar of Mother Cabrini Parish; the Rev. Steven Frenier, pastor of Our Lady of Hope and St. Patrick parishes; the Rev. Francis Karwacki, pastor of Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish; the Rev. Fred Wangwe, pastor of Saint Monica Parish, and Deacon Martin McCarthy.

Flag bearers were Jordan Hauer, Marcus O'Brien, Dakota Maneval and William Allen. Cross-bearer was Brian Christiana. Altar servers were Claudia Rawa and Tanner Maneval. The welcome theme was read by student council president, Anthony Catino. Scripture reading I and responsorial Psalm were read by faculty member, Joseph Litchko. Reading II was read by Peyton Klembara. General intercessions were read by faculty member, Ann Mains. Cantors were Shawn Khanna and Alexia Wheary. Offertory procession consisted of Rachel Schultz and Michael Gilger. Accompanist was Sandra Snyder. Margaret Bilder, senior class moderator, inducted the seniors into the alumni association and planned the program.