MOUNT CARMEL - James A. Garfield Camp 34 won two membership awards at the 134th annual encampment of the Pennsylvania Department of the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War held in Williamsport.

The camp received the Ivan E. Frantz Sr. Award for the largest percentage increase (24 percent) and the Donald J. Rosenberg Award for the most new members (six). Commander David Berezovske accepted the two $50 awards from Deparment Commander Richard Essenwein on behalf of the camp.

The Allied Orders of the Grand Army of the Republic Department of Pennsylvania held the encampment from June 26 to 29. The order also includes the Pennsylvania Departments of the Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War, the Auxiliary to the Sons of Union Veterans, Women's Relief Corps and the Ladies of the Grand Army of the Republic.

The encampment opened with a ceremony honoring deceased members.

A rededication of the monument for Lycoming County Civil War veterans was held, with Lycoming County Judge Dudley Anderson as main speaker.

Douglas P. McMillin was elected department commander. Other officers are John S. Frantz, senior vice commander; Alfred C. Carty, junior vice commander; Charles E. Kuhn Jr., secretary-treasurer; John M. McNulty, two-year council term, and Richard Essenwein, one-year term. Also attending were Ken L. Freshley, commander-in-chief of the Sons of Union Veterans, and Perley E. Mellor, immediate past commander.

Guest speaker at a joint banquet was Lee Stone, past Maryland Department commander.

Attending from the General J.P.S. Gobin Camp 503 of Sunbury were Anthony Kline, Gregory Kline, Scott Debo, Dennis Dewalt and Kenneth Snook.

The 135th encampment in 2015 will be held June 25 to 28 in Franklin.