COAL TOWNSHIP - Shamokin Area School Board member Ron McElwee was named chairman of the Northumberland County Career and Technology Center Joint Operating Agency Board during its reorganization meeting Wednesday evening.

Each school affiliated with the NCCTC - Shamokin Area, Mount Carmel Area and Line Mountain - rotate the position. Candidates from Shamokin Area were McElwee, Brian Persing and Charles Shuey.

A motion to name McElwee as chairman was made by outgoing chair from Mount Carmel Area, Donna James, and seconded by Persing. McElwee was then unanimously voted in by himself, James, Persing, Shuey, Mount Carmel Area's Michael Rovito, Line Mountain's Dennis Erdman and Scott Bartholomew, the board's secretary.

James thanked the board members for all their help while she held the position and wished them continued success in the coming year.

The vice-chairperson's rotation fell on Line Mountain this year, and Dennis Erdman was named unanimously to the post with Rovito making the motion and Persing seconding it.

Meeting days will be the second Wednesday of each month in 2013, with the work session beginning at 6:15 p.m. and the public meeting at 7 p.m.

In an executive session held immediately afterwards, the board voted 7-0 to recommend Diane C. Jaworski and Joseph C. Garcia, both of Coal Township, as substitute custodians, pending clearances.