MOUNT CARMEL - Mount Carmel Area School Board hired two coaches and approved a contract for treating the football and soccer fields during a brief meeting Thursday night.

Dave Sanford was hired as an assistant track coach at a salary of $1,500 to replace Mark Kraynak, who resigned.

Duane Winnie was approved as an assistant varsity baseball coach at a salary of $1,400 to replace Jeff Deitz, who resigned.

The board approved the yearly contract between the district and Big Foot Crossing for treating the football and soccer fields at a cost of $3,688.08.

Board member Joseph Zanella was appointed to the Mount Carmel Area Education Foundation to replace former director Joseph D'Andrea.

Directors approved Berkheimer OneSource for the comparison and processing of the district's Act 80 records at a cost of $735.

The board also approved the annual fire alarm service agreement with Tyco Simplex Grinnell at a cost of $2,208.

The board approved its annual $4,000 donation to Mount Carmel Area Public Library.

Directors accepted the resignation of Caprice Parisi as a part-time personal care aide and hired Drew Sheddy as a long-term substitute to fill a maternity leave.

Amy Czech and Amy Mudry were approved as student council co-advisers at a stipend of $200 each.

Aaron Domanski, Kelly Domanski, Jesse Wagner, Andrew Yaracz, Anne Darrup, Carissa Skavery, Jamie Wessinger, Margaret Barnhardt, Carleen Zlockie and Beth Ann Burns were approved as Odyssey of the Mind coaches for the 2013-2014 school year. The Domanskis will serve as advisers.

Permission was granted to televise the 94th annual Mount Carmel Rotary Club's football banquet to be held at 1 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 9, at Brady Fire Company.

A moment of silence was held at the beginning of the meeting for John Hutnick, a longtime basketball coach in the district who recently passed away. The board also recognized longtime Mount Carmel Area School District supporter and active community member Robert McSurdy, who died Tuesday.

Board president Thomas Ditchey conducted the meeting. Other directors in attendance were Zanella, Donna James, Robert Muldowney, Michael Rovito, Ray Kraynak, Tony Mazzatesta, Bill Brecker and Michael Brinkash.