Lycoming County businessman Scott Brion has announced his candidacy for the Democratic nomination for U.S. Congress in the 10th District with hopes of ousting two-term Republican Rep. Tom Marino in November.

Part of Northumberland County, including the Sunbury-Milton area, is included in the district that encompasses all or part of 15 counties.

Brion, founder and owner of Tioga Resources, a company that invests in the oil and gas industry in the Marcellus Shale region, said he believes it's time for a change.

"I'm a builder of businesses. I just really see that there's a need for, I guess, kind of a new breath," Brion, 44, said. "We need some folks with some different experiences and backgrounds to be more involved in the political mix."

Brion said he's bothered by Marino's votes that produced the federal government shutdown, a flood insurance law that caused rates to skyrocket and his "repeated siding with partisan extremists."

He cited Marino's more than 40 votes in favor of repealing all or parts of President Barack Obama's Affordable Care Act, calling them excessive in a divided Congress unlikely to repeal the law.

"I think it becomes political grandstanding, and I'm not sure that that's the people's business that Congress should be drawing attention to," Brion said. "I think he's very clear that he has a very strong ideology."

On the flood insurance law, he said Marino should have known before voting for it that it would sharply boost insurance rates. The bill was intended to reduce losses in the federal-run program, but the increased rates show that there are times federal subsidies for a program are appropriate, he said.

Brion said the district needs someone dedicated to putting the interests of the district first ahead of party politics and ideology.

Brion and his wife, Bibi, are expecting their first child this month.

Included in the 10th Congressional District are all or parts of Bradford, Lycoming, Juniata, Lackawanna, Mifflin, Monroe, Northumberland, Perry, Pike, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union and Wayne counties.