COAL TOWNSHIP - The Coal Township High School Alumni Association celebrated its 78th anniversary with a banquet at the Brady Fire Company Banquet Hall on May 24. Overall, 221 classmates assembled. The Class of 1941 was recognized as the 73rd year alumnus.

The opening invocation and the blessing were provided by President Sam Weaver. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited, followed by the singing of the Star Spangled Banner led by Samuel Weaver, Class of 1964.

A military presentation was given by Walter Summers, Class of 1948, honoring 49 veterans in attendance. A moment of silence was observed in memory of all departed veterans. The playing of "Taps" and "Salute" concluded the program.

Following the dinner, Weaver recognized the late Jim Gresavage, vice president, for his years of dedication and service to the association.

Weaver reported the nominating committee, under chairperson Theresa Targonski Sandri, Class of 1943, made the recommendation for the slate of officers to serve the 2014-15 year: president Samuel Weaver, Class of 1964; vice president Raymond Lauer, Class of 1943; secretary Doris Olley Ziemba, Class of 1964; treasurer Diane Grego Kerstetter, Class of 1964; historian Sharon Dietrich Criniti. An election was held and the officers were elected.

Fourteen members from the Class of 1964 celebrating their 50th anniversary, were awarded a pen and pencil set from the Alumni by Diane Grego, Class of 1964.

Sixty-one Shamokin Area High School seniors took a competitive test for the Coal Township Scholarships. The 2014 Coal Township Scholarship recipients are:

- Joseph Coangelo and George Nagle Scholarship - $3,000 per year. Joseph will be attending Bucknell University majoring in mechanical engineering.

- Melissa Smallets, Frank Marcinek Scholarship - $2,500 per year. Melissa will be attending West Chester University marjoring in nursing.

- Helana Supsic, George Lytle Scholarship - $2,000 per year. Helana will be attending Kings College, majoring in physician assistant.

- Daniel Delbaugh, Knopka Scholarship - $2,000 per year. Daniel will be attending Lock Haven University, majoring in sports administration.

- Kaitlyn Shultz, Coal Township Alumni Scholarship - $2,000 per year. Kaitlyn will be attending Shippensburg University majoring in mathematics.

- After recommendations by the faculty and administration from the Northumberland County Career and Technology, Mariah Mong was awarded the James Grescavage Sr. Scholarship for $2,500 per year from the Alumni. Mariah will be attending Cedar Crest majoring in nursing.

The Shamokin and Coal Township scholarship winners, after attending the Shamokin Area Alumni banquet, introduced themselves, talked about their major and their school of choice. Chris Venna, principal, congratulated the winners and reported the accomplishments of the Shamokin Area High School music, art and sports departments and thanked the Alumni for their continued support.

Weaver reported the Coal Township Alumni Association continues to serve the community and young people of Shamokin Area. In the last year, 32 high school graduates have received $64,000 in Coal Township Alumni Scholarship monies. The monies, received from class and individual donations to the scholarship fund and the generosity of the Andrew C. Long Foundation, will continue to finance the Coal Township High School Scholarships well into the future.

Weaver thanked the banquet committee members, Diane Kerstetter, Doris Ziemba, Sharon Criniti, Sarann and Thomas Keyack, Theresa Sandi and Genevieve Daniels. Anniversary classes were recognized and thanked for their continued support. All members were encouraged to become active member with the alumni association, noting the alumni meets six times a year. Anyone interested in becoming involved should call any of the officers.

The business meeting closed with the singing of the Coal Township Alma Mater, led by Weaver. Anniversary class pictures were taken by Harry Deitz.

During the afterglow, The Shoreliners entertained the assembly and refreshments were served.

Class members donating $100 or more to the scholarship fund become members of the Coal Township Alumni Century Club. The previous year's Century Club donors are listed in the annual alumni newsletter.