MANDATA - Northumberland County President Judge William H. Wiest gave the 75 members of the Line Mountain Class of 2014 three pieces of advice, summarized into three words each: "I'll be there," "Maybe you're right," and "Your heart knows."

Wiest told the graduates he was given a book titled "I dare you" as a child, which inspired him to reach for goals he might otherwise think are impossible to reach. He emphasized to the graduates that most of them might not know what they want to do with their lives, and that telling people "I don't know yet" is okay.

"You may not want a career," said Wiest. "The hardest thing you'll ever have to do is trust your gut."

Superintendent David Campbell barely contained his emotion as he accepted the presentation of the Class of 2014. His daughter, Hannah Lee Campbell, was among the students receiving diplomas.

He broke from the usual rituals to hold a moment of silence for D-Day, noting that the stadium's flag had been lowered to half-staff, and lead the crowd in the Pledge of Allegiance.

"You are a unique class," said Campbell in his speech, noting the class's exemplary academic skills. "This is a very academic class. Sixteen percent of this class achieved honors."

Principal Jeffrey Roadcap also remarked on the graduates' commitment to academia, pointing out they voluntarily held class on Saturday to keep snow days from pushing back graduation.

Allison Wolfe, class president, kept the welcome address succinct, and Hannah Campbell, salutatorian, welcomed Wiest to the stage with a brief biography.

Valedictorian Paige Adams emphasized her commitment to her class in her speech.

"Our memories will forever bond us together," said Adams.

Troy Laudenslager, school board president, presented the students diplomas. The Line Mountain concert band performed "An American Elegy" by Frank Ticheli.

The ceremony lasted approximately 90 minutes.


Jerid Anthony Adams, Paige Elizabeth Adams, Chelsea Nicole Bensinger, Colton Michael Bethge, Megen Amelia Bordner, Rayce Alan Boyer, Brandon Daniel Brill, Haillie Allison Brownawell, Hannah Lee Campbell, Matthew Tyler Derk, Bethanie Ruth Earlston, Brandon Edward Easton, Kaitlyn Elizabeth Erdman, Christopher James Feliciano, Lauren Giordani, Brent Matthew Heintzelman, Kylee Emma Heintzelman, Blayze Hayden Hommel, Brent Dallas Houser, Alyssa Nicole Johnston, Caleb Joshua Keefer, Kaitlyn Nicole Kembel, Collin Anthony Klinger, Dakota Jordan Klinger, Shannon Marie Koperna and Janessa Lynn Kosmer.

Madison Lyn Lagerman Janelle Nicole Lahr, Andrew Quinn Laudenslager, Shandi Elizabeth Lenker, Karissa Mae Lesher, Robert Ernest Logan, Dillon Jeffrey London, Brooke Logan Long, Kyle Andrew Lower, Chastin Alycia Lytle, Ethan Breck Marquette-Hulsizer, David Alexander Mojica, John Cruz Mojica Jr., Haley Kate Moyer, Conner Joseph Noblit, Olivia Jo Poltonavage, Kaleb Todd Portzline, Stephany Nicole Reader, Kelsea Marie Rebuck, Madeline Teresa Reed, Cheyenne Nichole Reitz, Heather Renee Rice and Cody Walter Romanoskie.

Kalan Mark Schlegel, Christy Lynn Schultz, Samuel Robert Scretching, Chase Mackenzie Selig, Eric Danile Shoop, Emily Marie Shrawder, Kennedy Jayne Smink, Jared Charles Specht, Derek James Spotts, Zachari Joshua Stiely, Braxton Nathaniel Strohecker, Courtlyn Alexis Trautman, Colleen Ann Troutman, Briana Nicole Janet Wagner, Falconer Jeffrey Walshaw-Wertz, Cory Dane Warford, Nathanial Craig Wetzel, Stephen Lamar Whitehead, Jessica Ann Wittig, Allison Taylor Wolfe, Mathew Charles Wolfe, Steven James Yost Jr., Indigo Skye Zerby, Colton James Zimmerman and Jessica Nichole Zimmerman.