SHAMOKIN - American Legion Auxiliary Unit 73 hosted the Six County Council meeting June 6 at Calvary Bible Fellowship Church Hall.

Thirty-six auxiliary representatives from Union, Snyder, Northumberland, Columbia, Montour and Sullivan Counties attended. Included were four from Kulpmont Unit 231; two from Millville Unit 546; seven from Danville Unit 40; one from Sunbury Unit 201; two from Lewisburg Unit 182; six from Watsontown unit 323; three from Bloomsburg Unit 273; six from Milton Unit 71; one from Dushore Unit 996 and four from the host unit.

Linda McDonald, district president, was quest speaker.

Installed as new Six County officers were: president, Patti Zwalkuski; second vice president Joan Topper; first vice president Connie Criswell; secretary Sherry Cragle; historian Jamie A. Bordell; chaplain Dawn Wright and sergeant-at-arms Dessie Stuempfe.

A luncheon was prepared and served by Unit 73. Bordell from the host unit was chairperson.

The hosts also presented gifts to the officers of the Six-County Council and the district president. Gifts were sent as well from state Reps. Kurt Masser (R-107) and Lynda Schlegel Culver (R-108).

The legion thanks the church and in particular Scott Bailey; the state representatives and the Dunkin Donuts and Weis stores in Shamokin.

Quarterly meetings are scheduled for Oct. 3 at Milton with a Christmas auction beginning at 9:30 a.m.; Dec. 5 in Lewisburg, 10:30 a.m.; March 6 in Watsontown, 10:30 a.m. (includes a memorial service) and June 5 in Kulpmont, at which time election of officers will be held.